RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well it's smoking but it looks like a cheap fix?

Have some coolant shooting out the left side of the heat plate I think, to the left of the left hose shown here, in another forum's write-up
https://www.landroversonly.com/forums/attachments/f40/30089d1323462083-coolant-leak-exploded-coolant-system-view-cimg0139.jpg

I also need decent hose clamps. Mine are perished/****.

Planning to order this heat plate kit
https://www.roverparts.com/Parts/MGM000010KG

Does anybody know how much stuff I have to take apart to install this?
Should I attempt to tighten/seal the plate rather than replace it? I am a novice with some wrenches. None of my neighborhood shops are willing to work on rovers. This is a clean P38 with 120k miles

And probably buying this RTV sealant too
https://www.roverparts.com/parts/RTC3254

·
SUPER MODERATOR
27,725 Posts
GEMS or Bosch? ahhh Bosch... it comes with a gasket, no RTV needed, also clean the throttle body while you are in Bosch carbon up far Faster than GEMS

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
51 Posts
Here is my temporary/semi-permanent/permanent fix to my leaking heater plate. I normally drive my Astro van in the winter when there is salt on the road up here in the mountains. Not sure at what temperature the heater is required but so far it has not affected how my P38 starts or runs.

Does anyone know if the heater plate required for all temperatures?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for all your input. Ordered the heater plate and found some hose clamps at very low price on Atlantic British. I will hope that this installation is within my ability. Know how to do brake pads and rotors, but I am by no means smart or energetic so we'll see. Only drove the RR 100 miles in the past 4-5 months :(

·
Registered
332 Posts
Atlantic british has a great video on replacing that throttle body heater plate.