RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2010-2012 Range Rover MkIII / L322
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Morning Group -

This is my first time posting here. I purchased my white 2011 HSE from CarMax in April 2016. It had extremely low miles (32k), was in excellent condition, and had service records from the previous owner. I paid $42k, and I added a $2900 MaxCare extended warranty (60 mos/100k/$300 deductible), since I'm well aware of the expenses that can be incurred on these vehicles over time. I LOVE the look of this vehicle - I LOVE the way it drives, feels, and I was riding high for a solid week after I bought it. This is when the issues began.

The first issue seemed like a minor one. The side mirrors would dip down when the truck was in reverse, but they'd come back up and actually point towards the sky before I was finished backing up. CarMax took it in and "reprogrammed" the mirrors, stating the issue was corrected. I went to pick it up and as soon as I put it in reverse, the same issue occurred. I went right back in and asked that they keep it and actually fix it. The following day they said they sent it to the Land Rover dealership and they found corrosion in the door control module and one of the connectors. They cleaned it up and programmed the new module, verifying it was working correctly. I picked up the card and - you guessed it - the same issue occurred. It went back to the dealership and this time they found a short in the mirror drive motor. They replaced the motor and verified it worked correctly. It did! For about two weeks. I decided to give it a rest and actually drive my Range Rover for awhile and maybe deal with that issue later. I didn't get far.