RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2002-2005 Range Rover MkIII / L322
888 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Several years ago I owned a 95 LWB County and it was a great truck until my daughter had an accident.

I am now considering buying a 2002 with 57k or a 2000 with 63k. I am a DIYer and have done some serious work on my Tahoes, Jeep and Lexus LS400. I expect to be able to do most of the maintenance and repairs as needed.

My concern with these trucks is the electrical problems reported here and on other sites. I'm not an expert on electrical - primarily because I'm color blind and have a difficult time following wires. Thank goodness it appears most of the problems are because of weak batteries, alternators and bad grounds. Those are problems I can probably handle - even being color blind 8)

I'm also a bit concerned about the EAS, as I had another Lexus LS400 with EHS and when one went it was expensive ($1,500/wheel just for the parts).

I only have a couple of questions:
1) How difficult is it to get parts for these trucks?
2) What is the mpg that you really experience?
3) Are any of these models full-time 4wd or does the front axle shafts always turn?
4) Do these have timing belts or chains, and how difficult are they to change?

TIA,

·
Premium Member
3,622 Posts
LEBoyd said:
3) Are any of these models full-time 4wd or does the front axle shafts always turn?

TIA,
1- Easy, depending on where you live.
2- 12-16 Miles Per US Gallon
3- They're all full time 4wd. Part time 4wd front axles don't turn only if you have the appropriate hubs.
4- Chains. You'll never need to most likely.

·
Registered
966 Posts
kmagnuss said:
LEBoyd said:

TIA,
1- Easy, depending on where you live.
2- 12-16 Miles Per US Gallon
3- They're all full time 4wd. Part time 4wd front axles don't turn only if you have the appropriate hubs.
4- Chains. You'll never need to most likely.

What he said.

·
JACK'S GRANDAD
9,244 Posts