RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
Joined
·
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to all.

First of all i apologize for my english.
The story goes like this:

I have a 1995 DT Manual p38 (originaly sold in Italy, so the whole system was metric)
I had a problem with the becm that i coudn't figure out at that time so i had to buy a new working becm.
I bought from a ebay.co.uk a new becm along with the key, clocks, ecu, door handle..the whole package.
When the problem occured the odo showed 154.000 KM.
The new becm/clocks show 177.000 MILES.
I know that the message center will display the highest number between the clocks and becm.
I know that UK clocks CAN'T display KM on odo/trip computer

Now, the problem:

I want to put my old clocks back just so the odo/trip computer show KM and not MILES.
The becm market is set for North America (passive immo reasons)
If i put my old clocks back what will the message center show? Do I need to re-set the market to one that uses the metric system? Will the becm then automatically convert miles to km?
 

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
Joined
·
19 Posts
Same problem replaced the BECM and the Km rolled forward 60000 did you find a solution to the problem.
 

·
JACK'S GRANDAD
Joined
·
9,242 Posts
As said already, the clocks and the becm are linked together, and the odometer will show the highest number between the two.
Only way to do it, is to have the becm programed for your mileage BEFORE it gets installed.
No way of rolling back the odometer that I know of.

Martin
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
27,802 Posts
COrrect. Throwing piles of parts at a simple BeCM repair has caused far more issues than you two had in the first place. Add to it that you spent far more than a simple repair you both got hosed for lack of research.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
I am in the U.S, if that makes any difference, and I had to swap BECM for a test. The replacement had much higher miles, and they never showed up. What did show up instead was "odometer error". After the test was over, I put the original BeCM back in, and because I had driven a couple hundred miles with the test BeCM and the miles clocked on the odemter, I am still getting "odometer error"..strangely enough the cluster won when I put the original back in, and kept the original (correct) miles rather than going back to the lower miles on the BeCM. Again, still have the right mileage, just "odometer error"
 

·
JACK'S GRANDAD
Joined
·
9,242 Posts
You got away with that one Steve. If left in there, I would think that the odometer would have gone to the higher mileage, and then stay there.
Only way I, or Scotty, know of to get the miles back down to the correct number is to switch instrument packs and then get the becm programed the RIGHT way.

Martin
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
483 Posts
Is the metric/imperial just set in the instrument binnacle of in the becm?

If I changed my binnacle would the mileage read in km?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,565 Posts
Hi to all.

First of all i apologize for my english.
The story goes like this:

I have a 1995 DT Manual p38 (originaly sold in Italy, so the whole system was metric)
I had a problem with the becm that i coudn't figure out at that time so i had to buy a new working becm.
I bought from a ebay.co.uk a new becm along with the key, clocks, ecu, door handle..the whole package.
When the problem occured the odo showed 154.000 KM.
The new becm/clocks show 177.000 MILES.
I know that the message center will display the highest number between the clocks and becm.
I know that UK clocks CAN'T display KM on odo/trip computer

Now, the problem:

I want to put my old clocks back just so the odo/trip computer show KM and not MILES.
The becm market is set for North America (passive immo reasons)
If i put my old clocks back what will the message center show? Do I need to re-set the market to one that uses the metric system? Will the becm then automatically convert miles to km?
It's the BeCM (configuration/market) that sets the odometer unit's, since the BeCM would be the higher figure of the two (if you put your original Instrument Pack back) you'd get 'odometer error', if you performed the testbook odometer update you'd get rid of that message but would end up with the BeCM's higher figure now showing. Guess you need more specialist equipment/knowledge to get round it, or as has been already said fix the original issue with the original BeCM.




I am in the U.S, if that makes any difference, and I had to swap BECM for a test. The replacement had much higher miles, and they never showed up. What did show up instead was "odometer error". After the test was over, I put the original BeCM back in, and because I had driven a couple hundred miles with the test BeCM and the miles clocked on the odemter, I am still getting "odometer error"..strangely enough the cluster won when I put the original back in, and kept the original (correct) miles rather than going back to the lower miles on the BeCM. Again, still have the right mileage, just "odometer error"

Seems normal to me, the first time with the test BeCM (if that's not a misnomer), which had a higher stored figure in it than the Instrument pack did, in this case you'd get "odometer error" which you promptly did, but it would not have updated the Instrument pack to that test BeCM's figure.

You then drove around clocking up miles as normal as does the Instrument pack, your original BeCM then goes back in which had it's value at the time of removal, now lower than the Instrument pack obviously. That BeCM's figure is then updated to the current Instrument pack figure, although there would no change to see other than being left with the 'odometer error'.

Testbook can get rid of this but I'm not clear what the Instrument pack would go to, if anything (as the original BeCM is still there, as opposed to the OP's scenario)....the test BeCM's figure or just get rid of the message.
 

·
LEGACY VENDOR
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
Joined
·
2,064 Posts
Hers the deal, when replacing the original BECM you must program the new / replacement BECM to read 000000 miles then once installed the replacement BECM will adopt any mile as listed in the cluster.. If you don't do this there will be a mismatch of information, and you will see ERROR..
The better question is how to remove the error message, I can't talk to what the test book will do, however is you program the BECM to read 000000 mileage and then reinstall the BECM it will go to the new stored mileage. The only way to change the mileage back, is to replace the cluster with a lower mileage unit and make sure the BECM reads 000000 when installing..

good luck

Scotty
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
Hi all, i just want to share that we recently swapped engine from a 4.6hse halfcut and the whole entire dashboard and instrument clusters.
So far the car runs fine with the exception of the dreaded "Odometer Fault".

Our car is a 4.6HSE (probably it is a UK Spec RR as the odometer/trip meter is in MPH and the speedo is in MPH and KPH).
It has probably done 250K miles to date.

However the downer car was sourced from Hong Kong (probably its a global market spec as everything is in KPH). However the mileage on it is around 65K KM.

We still retained the original car's BECM/ECU (did not swap the ECU over from the half cut).

Everything works so far except the stupid odometer error that pops up on the start only. The dial gauges all work.

Any suggestion what i should do? Can we retain the "new" odometer/dail gauge cluster which has a 65K KM mileage or it is a must that i swap back to the "original" with a 250K miles odo?
U reckon if i swap back to the original cluster the error will still be there or the fault will forever be embeded into the ecu?

The car drives fine and the engine purrs now with the replaced drivetrain.

Hope it is not a rhetoric question but i'm looking forward to get the car back on the road again.
Looking forward to everyone's advice.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top