RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, I've got a 2001 RHD V8. I was turning in to my road when there was a prominent "Clunk" sound and it felt like the whole vehicle jumped a little.I was only going slow at the time.
I've had a look underneath but cant find anything obvious broken / snapped / sheared off. Jacked it up and checked the wheel bearings ,all appear ok.
I'm no mechanic so any help in plain speak would be a great help, thanks in advance .
Andy.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hi, Just to add been out for a very carefull short drive , no strange noise's ect when driving staight or turning left but right turn still clunking and jumping !!! I did try different ride hights and think it was better in max height but still not right.
Just trying to give as much info as possible for any help.

Andy

·
Registered
166 Posts
Just a thought...If your front end checks out ok I would check the transfer case. My friends 4.0 would make terrible clunking sounds and the wheels would jump (rear end) when he would take a tight right or left turn.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks, I'll have a look to see if any thing looks wrong.I take it I'm looking to see if the case mountings are not tight ?

·
Registered
166 Posts
Not Exactly... my understanding is the transfer case takes the drive from the engine + transmission and distributes the power to both the front end and rear end evenly and variably when needed. When you turn tightly, you are in effect turning/powering the front diff at a much higher rate then the rear diff. A healthy transfer case makes the needed change by allowing the front to turn at the needed higher rate when in a tight turn while distributing power. An unhealthy transfer case can cause a slew of issues most notably the one where you hear clunking and the rear tires jump/skip as if you have a seized diff when taking a tight turn.