RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys newbie here but everytime i attempt research im directed to this site so figured i may as well give it a shot.

2006 range rover HSE. purchased used with 76,000 miles. 10 months later currently at 80,000 miles so as you can see i dont drive it often.

issues: initially if i didnt let the car warm up for like 10-15 minute and attempted to drive off immediately i would get "limited gears" fault among others and not have full acceleration of the car. That along with slips or jerks shortly after accelerating from a stop. This got progressively worse to point where now check engine light is on and immediately upon starting car im hit with faults and errors and car struggles very much to drive. brought it to mechanic who wasnt a land rover expert but he retrieved about 10 codes for me. some being

p0730
p0731
p0735
p0735
po741
p1783
p0504
p0171
p0441
v0126
v0122
v0100

his analysis was instantly "new transmission", rough estimate 3500-4000 dollars. my question is before i jump the gun are there any other fixes or options i have? thanks guys any information is appreciated

·
Registered
252 Posts
Hey what a bummer! Not all of those codes are transmission related. If the car was not well maintained you could be up against a whole lot of problems. For example, just the p0171 error alone could be related to needing a new one, or any combination of the following: air filter, fuel filter, throttle body, spark plugs, PVC system and related hoses.

You shouldn't have trans issues on those miles.. Start with fluid flush, new and new trans filter. Sounds like possible sensor issues but I'm certainly no expert..

What kind of maintenance history do you have?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3