Range Rovers Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2010 Range Rover Sport naturally aspirated

Ok, so I'm a Land Rover newbie, but a pretty proficient wrench. I had a charging issue with the vehicle. Regulator went out, and was charging high at 15v+. I replaced the alternator, and the the problem resolved itself. Car ran fine, and no issues. Fast forward 3 days, and the car dies on me while driving. While still rolling, I put it in neutral and restarted. It went for another 30 yards and died for the last time. Towed her to the house, and put the battery on a charger and began to troubleshoot.

Electronics power on, but will not even attempt to send power to the starter. Shows no faults on the dash. When I plug my scanner in, I notice that I can communicate with the ECM and Brakes, but I am completely unable to communicate with the TCM. I'm really at a loss here. The only thing I can guess is that I killed the TCM by overcharging it and it somehow keeps me from even starting the motor.

Anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks so much in advance!

·
Registered
2007 Range Rover 4.2 SC V8
161 Posts
As a 'collector' of sorts of used modules I would caution you on jumping straight to the module. Loss of comms can be a cause of another component dragging the network down. What does your scanner give you for codes? Once you read/record them clear them and see what comes back. Then we can dig into the meat of this.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Unfortunately, no codes. I just can't communicate with the TCM. In other applications, 15 volts is more than enough to fry electronics, so I was just assuming....
I'm open to any help you Gan give though!

·
Registered
161 Posts
What scanner are you using?

·
Registered
161 Posts