RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So it's been almost 3 weeks since I took delivery of my Velar.

Overall, I'm pretty happy with it. It drives great and I love how it looks inside and out.

But I buy new cars very frequently (28 over the last 20 years) so I'm not going to sugar-coat anything with regards to how it compares so far to other makes I've had experience with. The initial build quality of my Velar First Edition has been disappointing to say the least. Since I'm new to the Land Rover brand, I would like to ask the Land Rover vets here, is this par for the course with this brand? I understand that any brand new model will have its teething issues, but I at least expected them to have better quality control before shipping these out from the factory. I'm actually surprised that some of these even got past the dealer's pre-delivery inspection. For comparison, my Audi Q7 was also an early build as one of the first US deliveries from my dealer, and it has just as much tech as the Velar yet has not had a single problem since I bought it 18 months ago. Flawless.

So here's the current list:

1. rubber seal/gasket on the front leading edge of the pano-roof glass has a huge defect not only cosmetically but functionality is compromised (it allows some water leakage in the area which fortunately still drains around the inner well of the roof under the glass and doesn't get into the cabin)
2. front passenger's side upper door trim has a large indentation and the retaining clips are damaged leaving a visible gap between the interior door panel and the window glass (looks like someone tried to force it incorrectly at the factory and bent the clips)