RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My rear brake pads had worn down and were grinding on the rotors and somehow the brake sensor never went off.
The dealer claims that the pads weared down unevenly and the outside pad is completely ground down while the inside pad that has the sensor on it has still not triggered the sensor.

I'm no expert here, but is this plausible? If it is, I can't believe the caliper can be this far off unless it was setup incorrectly.

I think the LR service contract should cover this since the sensor did not go off . . . . at a minimum cover the damaged rotors. What do you guys think?

This is an '08 supercharged

·
Registered
18 Posts
I have had this happen on a rotor before. There was some binding in the caliper and one pad wore to the backing plate while the other was fine.

·
Premium Member
2006-2009 Range Rover MkIII / L322
305 Posts
Yeah good luck w/ that.
Same thing happened to me, and I argued why did I need brake replacements when the sensor didn't go off, and he gave a similar response to the previous poster. Uneven wear, blah, blah, blah.
When I argued to the ineffectiveness of the wear sensor, I was reminded of the fine print of the LR contract, which states they do not cover wear & tear issues related to brakes, etc. Not sure how'd you'd argue, your wear & tear sensor needs to be covered, despite the exclusion of wear & tear items. :think:

However, when I changed mine, I figured the sensors were still good, but one disintegrated in my hand during the brake change, and the other fell apart a wk later. SO they'll go soon enough, it's just probably not worth pushing it to that limit. Think of them as your fuel reserve tank light, but when they come on you have like 1/2 a gallon left (if that). I think that's why most astute drivers don't wait for them to go (I've now come to realize).

·
Premium Member
2002-2005 Range Rover MkIII / L322
1,973 Posts