RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2002-2005 Range Rover MkIII / L322
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
RR Newbie here!

Always wanted RR, and managed to fulfil my dream yesterday! Purchased a 2003 RR Vogue 3.0Td6 and loved it, took it home and had a twiddle with the EAS knobs and the front end dropped like a hot potato. Closely followed by a message (which I can barely make out in the heavily dead-pixelled display telling me to not exceed 35mph because the EAS wasn't active!

Had it to a local garage today who got a snap-on code reader on it, which immediate flashed up codes for exhaust valves, glow plugs and air compressor! He advised me to purchase one myself on ebay and he'd fit it. (clearing code did nothing, compressor still doenst sound like its running)

Spoke to a friends garage next who said they would supply a compressor, and if it turned out to not be the compressor I wouldn't be charged for it :). She also said they've fitted 10 compressors over the last 12 months and 8 of then turned out not be the compressor!

I know I could take it back to the 'dealer' within 30 days and get my money back, but I love this car - I don't trust the guy who sold me it and id rather pay someone I know to do a decent job on it!

Would it be logical for me to think the compressor will be replaced, and a new fault code would appear maybe incriminating the bag or solenoid sensors etc?!

I'll keep you posted. I traded in my beloved insignia for this beast, hope it turns out to be a good'n!

Richy

·
Administrator
27,802 Posts
Well, you have a leak. Most likely in the front. Most likely ignored and had worn out the compressor. A new compressor is a good thing. Now look at a set of front struts. That'll take of you for another 80-100K miles.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! I'll look into that too. Get the feeling there will be a fair bit of garage time coming up but I don't mind so much!! This is it bowing line a playful puppy!