RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

Newbie here, and sorry if this question has been dealt with before, but a search didn't find what I was looking for.

My 14 year old P38 4.6 petrol has been starting ok, even when using it infrequently. Used it for work yesterday and to drive home, calling in for petrol on the way. This morning the doors wouldn't unlock with the key pad. There was no electrical power at all, and I tested the battery with my meter, and it registered 3.6 volts!! The lights had not been left on, and everything was left as normal.

Cutting a long story short, I eventually got my Ford tractor and tried to jump start the P38. With the jump leads connected, there seemed to be good power, and all the dash lights came on as usual. Now this tractor has a very large battery, but even when the message 'Start Engine' appeared, the engine would not turn over, just a very short 'whrrr' , and nothing, no panel lights etc.

I'm completely baffled because I've had flat batteries before, and just re-charged them and the engine fires up OK. I've even jumped started it when my wife left the lights on in the supermarket, but this time - nothing!

My first thought is that perhaps the alternator has gone and is shorting out the battery, but there was no sign of trouble when I got home last night. Obviously there is a power leakage somewhere, but where? Your suggestions as to a possible cause will be most welcome! thanks.

Geoff

·
Registered
308 Posts
Hi, and welcome.

I would suggest following and filling out the electrical stickey at the top of the forum. That is a good place to start troubleshooting your problem.
Check all your connections are tight too.