RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1997 2.5 DSE Auto.....

I am finding the Range Rover experience to be brief moments of joy followed by great financial expence!! Very pleased that I recalibrated my suspension by making up the nessesary blocks - I then took it out to tow a new toy home.

I am relatively new to Auto transmissions, and have never towed anything using an automatic gearbox prior to today, on the trip to pick up my toy the truck ran like a dream towing a realtively heavy trailer like it wasnt there at all, nice! on loading up the trailer the drive home was scary, initialy I thought the motor was low on power it didnt seem to be pulling that well on slight uphill gradients, low RPM's were Ok but hoofing it uphill caused the box to change down, as expected, but nothing much appeared to be happening and the truck slowly decelerated. I suspected a blocked fuel filter as I sometimes run dodgy diesel so pulled over and changed it out for a spare I always carry. Set off again but same problem -ok on level ground but on an incline if I floored the pedal and it kicked down the RPM hovered around the 3500 mark [ i think] but no 'power' from the engine. It has an inline chip, so I pulled over and took it out of the system thinking it might be causing a problem, it wasnt that either. loaded trailer weight would be about 1.5T so well within the RR placarded towing limits.

I drove gently home hiding behind the big rigs as an excuse not to overtake, keeping RPM's around 2000-2500 and being careful not to cause the transmission to kick down. When I unloaded and unhooked the trailer I gave the RR a thrash up the road and thought that it was reluctant/slow to change up. But I have to say it does seem Ok now.