RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys been to look at my second RR today and she was beautiful check it out

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... 720wt_1138

Only problem is the guy selling it says that he thinks the exhaust manifold gasket has gone and is blowing which is causing a tapping / ticking noise. You can only hear it on the left hand head (as if you was looking at the engine). My dad, on the other hand thinks it's a cam rattle :shock: which is a lot more serious so I yet again have walked away :cry:

I'm not a mechanic and my dad isn't really a mechanic either but he's been around enough engines and **** boxes to know whe there may be a problem.

She's done 103k so any opinions from you guys?

Ideally I need a mechanic I guess but times running out.

really gutted about this one.

Tom

·
SUPER MODERATOR
27,771 Posts
Both are easy weekend fixes. I seriously doubt if it were a cam that you would only hear the noise on one side. Perhaps a real mechanic should check out the rig if you find it that attractive. True you may eventually fall onto just the right rig. Then again this may be it and you are letting yourself get scared off without full and proper info.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
rrtoadhall said:
Both are easy weekend fixes. I seriously doubt if it were a cam that you would only hear the noise on one side. Perhaps a real mechanic should check out the rig if you find it that attractive. True you may eventually fall onto just the right rig. Then again this may be it and you are letting yourself get scared off without full and proper info.
So you reckon it's worth a go?
When you say easy weekend fix do you mean for a mechanic? :?

·
Premium Member
1970-1995 Range Rover Classic
367 Posts