RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1970-1995 Range Rover Classic
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a college freshman and have always loved British made cars and have a deep passion for them. Last year I purchased a rather neglected 92 Rover County that cosmetically is in wonderfully shape. However I have been dealing one specific problem the entire time. The alternator. I have been poking around all sorts of sites for a few months now to try and resolve my seemingly never ending alternator fault (or other underlying fault causing alternator malfunction). When I bought the truck, I drove it home and I found that I drained the battery taking back home. The alternator looked warn so it was the first thing I replaced. At first I used a delco Remy conversion, because I had one laying around, but after other research I decided to take it out and purchase a remanufactured Lucas (OEM) from oreilly. The new alternator is giving a nice 14 volts when running but no charge is getting to the battery. Also I found If I let the engine run for a few minutes, the tachometer with start to act up. The battery warning light on the dash also will not go completely off and remains dim at any engine rpm. When I reinstalled the alternator I followed the rave manual instructions and all the wires are correctly attached. I have checked tension and it is at the recommended tension for the belt. When doing research I found that an alternator fault will cause sporadic transmission shifting and fuel starvation. (These are symptoms I have as well). I don't really know what else could be wrong since the alternator is operating correctly but everything else on the Rover is acting up. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
40 Posts