RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi - i'm a newbie here. 2003 HSE ... for one year (yes, i have tolerated it that long) alarm goes off constantly. searching on this forum ... seems like the hood sensor may need adjusting. before i bring to dealer or RR mechanic and pay $$$, was thinking of taking a look at the sensor under the hood. 1st, anyone have a downloadable copy of the repair manual (not handbook)? 2nd, anyone have pics of where exactly is the sensor for the hood? ANY advice appreciated ... many thanks!!!

·
Administrator
27,822 Posts
search will tell you to download RAVE from the internet.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
trying to navigate thru the RAVE ... any pointers on where can i find an image of the hood sensor (alarm)?

·
LEGACY VENDOR
2,369 Posts
On RH Drive L322s the bonnet switch is up on the secondary bulkhead on the RH side of the vehicle at the rear of the engine compartment - close to the brake fluid reservoir. It's just a simple switch which is 'made' when the bonnet is open. I assume it's in the same place on a LH drive car (except presumably this is now the battery side, not the brake fluid reservoir side?) You can't miss it.

Phil

·
Registered
57 Posts
I had the same problem with the alarm triggering for no apparent reason (seemed to be linked to when the sunlight hit it in the morning). I unplugged the sensor and it's been fine since.

·
Administrator
27,822 Posts
taskam said:
I had the same problem with the alarm triggering for no apparent reason (seemed to be linked to when the sunlight hit it in the morning). I unplugged the sensor and it's been fine since.
:shock: :think: Sunlight sensor for the alarm?

·
Registered
57 Posts
I wondered if it was some slight expansion due to the heat resulting in the contacts of the switch breaking. I guess I could spend time to adjust this, but haven't had time yet.