RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm a final year engineering student and I'm currently working on the dynamics of a Range Rover sport for a coursework.

I've got a few quesitons regarding the air springs fo the RRS and wondering if anyone could help me out.

To calcualte a stiffness I need the dimensions of the individual air spring cyclinder, i.e. diameter and length and also the individual pressure. I'm aware they work in a linked system so even a total system pressure that I can divide by 4 to give me a rough figure would be useful.

Thanks in advance, any information will be greatly appreciated, and if this forum works with reps or likes there will be plenty to hand out :)

·
Premium Member
2006-2009 Range Rover Sport
5,175 Posts

·
Registered
211 Posts
Hello all,

I'm a final year engineering student and I'm currently working on the dynamics of a Range Rover sport for a coursework.

I've got a few quesitons regarding the air springs fo the RRS and wondering if anyone could help me out.

To calcualte a stiffness I need the dimensions of the individual air spring cyclinder, i.e. diameter and length and also the individual pressure. I'm aware they work in a linked system so even a total system pressure that I can divide by 4 to give me a rough figure would be useful.

Thanks in advance, any information will be greatly appreciated, and if this forum works with reps or likes there will be plenty to hand out :)
Hate to add complexity to your course work but the system actually (based on articulation demand) actively cross-links the suspension "corners" - ie. they are NOT always cross-linked! In typical operation each corner has its' own control valve and height sensor; the computer auto-levels each corner independently to achieve even ride-height.