RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This monday I will be driving back home to Portland OR from San Diego CA for thanksgiving break. I am planning on doing the 1k mile journey in one go via Interstate 5 the problem is that the weather report is forecasting 4 to 7 inches of snow in the pass and only vehicles equipped with snow tires or chains will be let through. I have had some experience driving in snow and ice but a trip of this magnitude, most of it which will be at night, is going to be something new. Does anyone hear have any tips for driving in snow and with chains and any ideas where I can purchase chains that will fit the rovers 20'' rims. Thank you and wish me luck on my journey.

Milo

·
LIFETIME CONTRIBUTOR
11,013 Posts
If they really are enforcing snow tires or chains requirement, you may have a problem. Although the stock Contis are probably good enough to handle a few inches of compacted snow if you take it easy, they aren't snow + ice rated and the highway patrol may not be impressed when you show them the snowflake on your Terrain Response knob (but you can try)... :wink: The accessory chains Land Rover sells for the Sport won't work on low profile tires such as your 20s - they only fit 18 and 19" stock setups - and nobody was able to suggest an aftermarket chain that could fit a 20" rim last year, when a similar post came up. Of course, you could buy a set of 20" snow tires (the 275/40/20 Pirelli Scorpion Ice&Snow always become available around this time of the year), with those tires on a 4x4 I am sure they would let you through without objections. But that seems like such a waste of money if this is a one-time round trip, plus you're leaving tomorrow.