RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI Guys,

Complete newbie here. Just brought my first 4x4 this morning. A R reg P38 SE automatic with LPG fitted.

Driving it home i noticed that there was about an inch of travel on the accelerator pedal before anything happened. Is this usual?

Is it a simple fix? replace the cable or something.

Also i seem to be under powered (or so i think) i was doing 70 mph on the motorway and my foot was almost to the floor. Now im not expecting porche like performance but this strikes me as a little under powered.

Now i have never driven a 4x4 before and have no way of knowing if this is a usual occurrence or not.

Cheers

Frosty :?

·
Registered
931 Posts
Check the accelerator cable adjustment.
Once adjusted correctly there will still be a fair amount of movement to achieve a vehicle response.
I was once told this is because when driving offroad over irregular terrrain it is too prevent small terrain induced accelerator movements(ie your foot moving on the pedal) causing sudden large power increases. :think:

·
Registered
269 Posts
I had the very same issue with mine, also an R reg. At some point in its history the ajustment screw has been damaged and now my ajustment is partially held by a cable tie, obviously a quick fix by a garage or dealership.

It's basically a case of screwing the throttle cable tighter untill there is very little slack in the cable, it's also worth noting that you will loose the kick down because the throttle cable does not move enough to trigger it. If your traveling at 70 with your foot flat to the floor and not gaining any speed then I would say your kickdown is not triggering.