RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 99 RR with 172000 miles. Trans. was replaced along with front brakes and front dif. Afterwards the
ABS light is on continously (not on before). After extending driving (few miles) there is a "click" and little
less pressure at brake pedal.

Transmission will not go into low range (rarely use it but would like it to work).

Dealer says ABS module has to be replaced and that will solve the tranny problem, also.

Before I spend $1400.00 - I would like to know if that is the problem affecting tranny and did the brake work
cause the ABS problem. Dealer says sensors are tight.

I am not a mechanic nor very mechanically inclined.

Any thoughts appreciated - going back to dealer next week.

·
Registered
931 Posts
If this only happened after, transmission, diff and brake replacement,my money is on the dealer not refitting/breaking something during the replacement procedure :naughty:

·
Premium Member
2002-2005 Range Rover MkIII / L322
3,622 Posts
Your dealer is dumb. They effed up a abs sensor somehow is my guess.

Your transfer case and abs are in no way related. For them to say otherwise would make me believe they're doing they're typical dealer bs and just throwing parts at it.

Have you checked that your TC motor is trying to shift it into low range? Search on the main page for how to do it.

·
Registered
965 Posts
Unless you're very lucky to have come across a very honest mechanic, my money is on your mechanic messing things up-And, not owning up to their mistake.

Similar thing happened to me where I went in for a T-case chain replacement for $1500, but the mechanic said that the transmission is also bad and require a full rebuild. That meant additional $4000. The thing is, I went in right away for chain replacement after hearing the machine gun-like sound, and the transmission was shifting fine when the truck was brought in to the shop.