RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 92 classic runs fine for a few days then all of a sudden it will idle but die out when the throttle is given. Most of the time it will stall completely and the only way to get it started again is to pull the fuel cut off switch under my seat. Ive replaced the plugs, the idle air control valve, cleaned the mass air flow sensor, my ignition amplifier control module has been relocated, and my new Lucas ignition coil is coming today. Im a do it your selfer and Im tired of taking this thing to the shop and being charged $125 for them to tell me that they dont know and want to do more work. What I mean is they want to tear down the whole top half of the motor. I dont think thats the problem, however I am new to RR. Its a pain, but Im hooked! Please help- Thanks

·
Registered
269 Posts
I am wondering why you would have to touch the fuel cut off button? It should only cut the fuel in case of an accident, does it trip when it stalls? Do you have a check engine light?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No check engine light. It also doesnt trip when it stalls, its almost like its flooded and the only way it starts is to cut off the fuel. Ive just never heard of an EFI vehicle flooding

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So far the ignition coil seems to have worked, I only drive around town for a few minutes though. Ill update after our run through the mountains this weekend. Anyone with any other ideas please feel free to add them.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Next time it stalls and doesn't want to run I would pull the plugs check for spark/see if they are wet. How old is your fuel filter, you might be starving for fuel when it stalls?

·
Registered
36 Posts
Your on the right path. Write down the remaining parts of the fuel injection system and sensors. Replace the cheap parts first and clean/test what you can. Also, don't forget the cables to the battery.

·