Range Rovers Forum banner

2020 RRS HST, good lease deal?

8K views 39 replies 9 participants last post by  bakerl1 
#1 ·
So I am totally new to leasing cars, but I have been in love with Range Rover sports for over a decade. I have a 2013 BMW 335is and now have two kids I need to be able to transport. So I built a 2020 RRS HST on the site, and sent the build to my local dealer down the street. Can someone let me know if im getting hosed on this deal or not?

36 months lease/10k miles
Build cost 91k
Residual value 52,607
MF .00167
10k down, 12k due at signing
IF my trade in is worth the KBB of 15k, my monthly would be $844
Basically im spending 57k total over the 3 years to drive the vehicle. Seems crazy but I would no doubt enjoy this vehicle every day of my life. Thoughts?

#2 ·
Nice. I also came from a string of BMWs (including a 335 at one point). Very different experience for sure. I'm enjoying my 2020 HSE so far, but do miss some niceties from BMW (mostly to do w/ electronics). Be sure to spend some time playing around w/ the infotainment before you buy because it drives some people nuts. I love coming out in the morning and seeing it in the garage- such a beauty (which is weird to say about an SUV).

I'd suggest posting this question on leasehackr where you'll get more input, but generally:
-Range Rover Sports are always expensive to lease relative to the competition
-Dealers dont discount much (best case is typically 5% off)
-Dealers often hike up the money factor
-With a lease, its better to put nothing down. Thats cause if the car is every stolen or totalled the "gap insurance" will pay off the difference between what your insurance company pays and your remaining obligation on the lease. Any money you put down, effectively, gets lost in this scenario.