RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All
I am looking for new tires for my 2011 RRSSC with 20" stormers and have searched and read every thread on this forum i can find on tires in 275/40 or 275/45 r20 sizes. I have concluded it is time for a new thread on the topic.

My situation is that i live in generally a hot climate and spend a lot of time on pavement and i am a spirited driver. That said, i also truly use this vehicle off road on the weekends including boulder/rock crawling and muddy hill climbs. I do not have the time or the patience to swap wheels every friday and sunday. The OEM size is 275/40r20, i have read that 275/45/r20 fits as well with no spacers and no rubbing. This larger size would be ~1" larger diameter, have a slightly taller sidewall and would throw off the odometer by ~3.5 miles per every 100 miles or speedo by 2mph at 65mph.

So here are my key questions for this collective:
1. Understanding that there is clearly going to be a compromise here between on road performance and off road performance, what is your recommendation for the best tire that will perform as well as possible in both of these situations assuming 275/40r20 or 275/45r20?

2. I have put the options i am looking at below, but what options am i missing? What do you recommend?

3. If i expand beyond OEM size of 275/40r20 and use 275/45r20, is it mandatory that i buy a 5th new tire to use as my spare as this is ~1" larger diameter tire?

To further aid the discussion, i have done a ton of independent research here and spoken to several tire manufacturers. My summary of findings is as follows:

mi_latitude_tour_hp_pdp124crop.jpg
Michelin Latitude Tour HP 275/40r20 - this is the tire recommended by the dealer and by tire rack. it is hugely expensive (~$400/tire) and i believe will perform adequately on the road, but do not see this being much good off road.

yo_parada_spec_x_pdp124crop.jpg