RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2006-2009 Range Rover MkIII / L322
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I usually do most car repairs myself. My Dad was an Mechanical Engineer and owned an Automotive Machine Shop up until I was a teenager (mid-eighties). He continued working on all types of Exotic Cars even after he sold the machine shop, and took a corporate engineering job.

I was a having a problem with the Air Conditioning in my 2006 Range Rover Supercharged. It would start blowing cold when i first started the car, but would get warm when I started driving. I thought clutch was engaging, and could hear and was pretty sure I visually could see it engage. I put my manifold gauges on stem, and pressures seemed correct and didn't fluctuate.

I suspected Compressor was failing, but wasn't sure. I'm a Professional Musician, and I have a Guitar Student who is a Diesel Mechanic, I mentioned the problem I was having diagnosing A/C. He told me a friend he works with had worked at Range Rover Dealer for 10 years, and was shop foreman. He even has the RR Testbook and other diagnostic equipment.

I called the guy, and he agreed to look at my RR. I took it over to his house, and after a visual inspection he determined the compressor was bad. He said if I bought parts he would install for $500. He mentioned the RR Labor Book estimated at close to 20 hours, but he could do it in 5 hours. I don't make anywhere near $100 per hour, but I was excited to get my Range Rover back on the road, and super busy with work. I decided to pay for the repair instead of doing it myself.

It took him about 2 weeks to do the repair. He called me and said there is another problem. The Air Conditioning isn't working because the car is getting slightly hotter than normal temperature, and Engine Computer is turning A/c off. He says a new waterpump will fix this problem. He will do the install for $300.