RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I seem to have an interesting issue with my wipers. They seem to be resting in a higher than normal position (not all the way up). I recently started lifting the wiper blades at night to prevent freezing, but other than that, everything has been fine.

Here's a video describing exactly what I'm dealing with (newer model), except I didn't set it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDF5n1xqzOA

Any ideas? The full range of motion is there, they just park higher than normal every time. Any ideas?

·
Registered
2002-2005 Range Rover MkIII / L322
1,932 Posts
find the bolt that holds the arm to the wiper motor,
loosen the nut, I will bet its not very tight.

then position the blades where they should park,
take the arm off the shaft and use a small wire brush to clean the small grooves,
then fit the arm,
then tighten the nut

·
Registered
359 Posts
^^ Is the nut under the "cover" where the arm attached to the stalk/motor? Just pop the cover up?

Do you need to take the arm off or can you just loosen the nut and move the arm down slightly so they are parked on the heating elements and then tighten the nut?

·
Registered
248 Posts
There is no cover, you're probably referring to the wrong nut.

If I understand correctly the wipers are travelling the full range, meaning that while operating they do go all the way down to where they should be when parked, it is just they they don't stop there when parked. If so then you should adjust the arm shown in the picture, not the individual wiper arms. Otherwise your wipers will 'crash' beyond the lower position when operating.
2016-01-25 17.48.35.jpg

·
Registered
359 Posts