RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2002-2005 Range Rover MkIV / L405
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello -
I am new to the forum and really hope that I can get some help/ direction on an issue I am having with a 2004 Range Rover HSE i just purchased. When I bought it the air suspension was not functioning. I test drove and the transmission shifted great. I had to drive it home about 15 miles after that and after about 10-15 mins the transmission seemed to slip and then rev up before engaging. Then I get the Trans Failsafe Program message and it went into 5th gear. Needless to say I got the truck home and just figured it was the result of the faulty air suspension.

Well I started playing with the suspension and ended up jumping some pins with some help from this website (Thanks`)) and filled up the front airbags/ struts to find the front left one was leaking. I purchased a strut and airbag on Ebay and also the Allcom reader system. After installing the strut and clearing the codes, and voila the truck leveled out the suspension perfectly:-o. I drove the truck around for about 15 minutes and everything was perfect.. I then got my wife, as I bought the truck for her, to let her drive it. We drove for about 5 mins and everything was fine. We pulled into the driveway and I showed her how to lower the suspension. I then wanted to test to see if it would go back up automatically if we started driving. That is when the tranny started to not engage and then the truck went into Trans Failsafe Mode:oops:. I raised the suspension manually and still no good. I then went in and erased all the codes. It would start okay but then slip back into Trans Failsafe Mode.

The codes I was getting are in the attached log (hope I did it right)... I am hoping this is not a bad tranny, but don't see how it can be when it ran completely fine until it seems to warm up.