RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1995-2002 Range Rover P38A
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today I took the car (122K miles on the clock) for a 40 mile round trip; Last sunday I did some work around the car and checked the fluids and all levels were OK except for the water that needed 1/2 pint to hit to the "cold" level which is what I have been adding once a year since I have the car (2006)

Anyway, I drove on the motorway for 15minutes , then in traffic for 25 minutes and all was perfectly OK.

When I arrived to destination the parking was on a very steep slope (I could barely stand up) and the car was left there for 15 minutes "nose down".

on restart I got a weird message "Alternator Fault", everything looked fine after restart, with no warning lights.

10 minutes down the road, just after I am leaving the slow traffic I notice the temperature of the water and the light coming on. yikes!

10 seconds later I hit the motorway I see the Temperature coming down and at the very first opportunity I stop and check the water level and the expansion tank was empty.

I waited 4-5 minutes wilst I was doing a telephone call to say I was having issues, then I checked the oil level and color and it was normal, nothing weird there.

I turned on the engine and while refilling the Expansion tank I started sqweezing the pipes , after that I Sealed the cap and let it run for another 7-10 minutes keeping an eye on the T Gauge which remained steady at 12o'clock ; I checked for leaks and found none, all the pipes are normal (not rock solid, I have been into cars all my life and these look normal)

On my way back I went on B roads and spent a good 50 minutes stuck in traffic, always with the T gauge on the safety zone.

Arrive Home checked the cooland and it is all there.

no water in the foot well, dont recall seing any water where I parked the car , but then I was not looking at the ground, no visible leaks.