Range Rovers Forum banner

1993 Range Rover classic

2K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  RRLondon 
#1 ·
I am about to buy it. No rust. But 240000 miles. I just want it. I know I am crazy. It’s on the road But has a check engine light on. A couple of windows do retract. I need advice I am a newbie. Note I am a master carpenter and artist and grew up working up on old cars so I am not taunted by elbow grease. Any advice appreciated. Thx in advance.

#2 ·
No rust is a huge plus as it's alot of work to fix a bad one. BUT you need to check this with your own eyes, it's primarily the body structure you need to assure yourself of. Look at every body to chassis mount point carefully, then the floor sections where the front passenger's feet are located, plus the longitudinal structures under the doors, plus the underside of rear wheel arches. Well you get the picture, but scrutinise it intricately.

Mileage shouldn't be problematic IF it's been maintained. If you've worked on older cars then maintaining it is simple but there's a lot of it to work through. Very basic components with virtually no special tools.

You'll need a code number from the diagnostic to go with engin check light to get more discussion specifically. Should be visible on diag display under one of the seats.

#3 ·
Bought a '93 about two months ago, 144K. Great truck. Do check for rust everywhere, but don't be put off by it. Rusty parts can be rebuilt or replaced, obviously with a cost of time and money. The display with the codes is under the passenger seat facing outward. Rectangular black box with red digital numbers. Feel free to HMU if you have questions. Good luck!

#4 · (Edited)