RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm brand new to RR, actually new to V8's as my other car is a 1997 Ford Probe 2.0L

Bear with me here, there's a point to all the junk I'm about to write.

I got this RR from my uncle for free, it had been sitting under a tarp in his back yard for at least 3 years in Kentucky.
He originally had it in the shop for 3 months due to a special order part they had to ship from Britain, some chemical in it made it so the part could not be flown to the US. While it was sitting on the Range Rover dealership's lot, the aftermarket stereo was stolen. He picked it up, drove it to the air port and left for three weeks, when he got back he started it up and drove it home. The next time he tried to start it it wouldn't start. He is a heart surgeon and was busy, so he needed a reliable car and bought a new range rover sport.

Four years later I got the car. I have done some work on it so far,

General Check of:
Wires
Relays
Grounds
Spark off of disty rotor
Spark off of high tension leads
Fuel pump (not pressure however)
Visual inspection of wires and vacuum lines (inside cab and engine both)
Cleaned and inspected electrical connectors
Visual check of disty.
Coolant Level

Replaced:
Ignition coil
Distributor cap
spark plugs
high tension wires
oil.
Battery
Relays for fuel pump and EFI