RangeRovers.net Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
earlier this week got in my truck and key wouldnt turn. disconnected the battery and waited about 2 minutes, reconnected and started up fine. A/C would not come on and air suspension went inactive. next morning started fine, A/C and air suspension ok. later that day key wouldnt not turn again. once again took the battery terminal off and waited, started fine. Now side light message appearing and almost every time you turn off the truck you have to disconnect the battery to restart. a stealership telling me its the steering column and the ignition switch. seems like an electrical problem to me but i'm no mechanic. Help Please!

·
Registered
79 Posts
I had to have the dealer update the ignition cpu software.They tried to sale me a new ignition i denied and they updated for free although they may try to charge a fee they shouldnt though.I had the same symptoms you posted.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Had same thing happen with my 05. Dealer replaced starter and column (also had the issue with the tilt motor of column falling sporadically) - never happened again. There *is* a relationship with the starter and the column; tried to find where I read it but it is there. Perhaps someone better able to articulate this, mechanically, than I can jump in?

·
Registered
2010-2012 Range Rover MkIII / L322
144 Posts
How old is your battery? Have it tested - i had similar weird random problems with a couple of bad batteries with bad cells.

·
Registered
646 Posts
The only relationship is the transponder which checks the chip inside the key to make sure its authorized to start the car. If the car turns on but doesn't turn over I would suspect an issue with the car being able to read the chip in the key.