Sport - Gear selector does not hold gear
  1. Welcome to RangeRovers.net – General discussion forum for Range Rovers

Welcome to RangeRovers.net - a website dedicated to all things Range Rovers.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join RangeRovers.net today!

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Sport - Gear selector does not hold gear

Sport - Gear selector does not hold gear

Hello - Newbie here - I have done searches in forums, and looked for YouTube videos - closest answer I can find involves adjusting the shift cable, I hope that is it -

My car is a 2013 Range Rover Sport HSE Luxury, with gas V8 and 6 speed automatic. It is American Spec, has 178k miles but was an executive commute vehicle for its first five years, never leaving the highway. Always well maintained, always serviced on time.

It is now popping out of gear.

Slowly, when I pull the Gear selector on the center console into Drive, once in a while the car would go into neutral by itself, I would pull back on the lever and it would be fine, engage transmission and accelerate. Solid in gear. I thought maybe the leather was bunching up on the shirft lever, but even holding it up, it still happens. I did move into Sport shift mode, but it feels sticky. I find if I drive holding the Gear Select lever with pressure backwards, it stays in gear, it used to stay in gear once warmed up (may not be a factor), but now I need to keep pressure backwards to keep it in gear.