Finally a way to add an AUX on a 2006
  1. Welcome to RangeRovers.net – General discussion forum for Range Rovers

    Welcome to RangeRovers.net - a website dedicated to all things Range Rovers.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join RangeRovers.net today!
     
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Finally a way to add an AUX on a 2006

  1. #1
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    June 21st, 2017
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    19

    Finally a way to add an AUX on a 2006

    Hello! So for the LONGEST time I have wanted to be able to add an AUX input to the amazing logic 7 system. The best thing I could find for the longest time was a NAVTV module for $350 which was not going to happen. So after more and more research, I found that the ACM from Land Rover was the way to go as you can STILL buy them from the dealer for $205 shipped!! And yes they do work in the 2006 Range Rover! I can even plug in my iPhone X into it and have steering wheel controls! Fitment of the ACM wasn’t too hard you mostly just have to put the unit in the actual glove box but it’s not too hard and I’m VERY happy with the results. When you purchase the unit you get an iPod cable, an RCA input,and a USB input (strictly for using a flash drive). If anyone had any questions about the unit I’ll be more than happy to try and answer them! Just wanted to make this post to fully confirm that it does work on the 2006 Range Rover (without the RSE)

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Range Rovers Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    JUNIOR ROVER LuisC's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 15th, 2014
    Location
    Austin, Texas, USA
    Posts
    577

    Re: Finally a way to add an AUX on a 2006

    You wouldn’t happen to have a part number for this would you?
    I know if I go into my Rover dealer, they will tell me no such part exist.
    Or they will tell me to go to an audio store for aftermarket slice and dice kit.


    Sent from my iPhone X
    08 Range Rover Supercharged (stock)
    02 Range Rover Westminster (stock)
    98 Discovery LE Tdi 5 speed, Warn winch, OME.

  4. #3
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    September 29th, 2018
    Location
    Birmingham, AL USA
    Posts
    35
    What he said...assuming I ever get mine running again!
    2006 HSE - Bonatti Grey

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Range Rovers Forum
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    June 21st, 2017
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by LuisC View Post
    You wouldn’t happen to have a part number for this would you?
    I know if I go into my Rover dealer, they will tell me no such part exist.
    Or they will tell me to go to an audio store for aftermarket slice and dice kit.


    Sent from my iPhone X
    Yes the part number is VPLME0004 I ordered mine from a dealer I believe in Fort Myers... just a simple google search should bring it up.

  7. #5
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    September 29th, 2018
    Location
    Birmingham, AL USA
    Posts
    35
    Just to clarify, you have to mount the kit in the glovebox, and then run the cord to your phone/iPod? Or you have to put your phone in the glovebox also?
    2006 HSE - Bonatti Grey

  8. #6
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    January 23rd, 2018
    Location
    Maine USA
    Posts
    60

    Re: Finally a way to add an AUX on a 2006

    Has anyone tried the bovee with the ACM?
    2009 R/R HSE
    2001 R/R HSE
    1971 SER III
    2006 Jaguar Super V8
    1990 R/R Classic (dearly missed)
    1990 Jaguar XJ-40 VDP (RIP)

  9. #7
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    May 31st, 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Posts
    28
    I have the Factory ACM in my 2006. When the switch is in CD mode all is fine but when you switch it to device mode you'll get a traction control easter egg on the display when starting up the truck. Its the onscreen traction display for 07-09s lol.

    Keep in mind on an 06 it's a hard install. You will remove your entire dash. I ran an extension usb/aux/ipod to the center console like factory.

    I bought mine new for LRDirect for like $150. They have some of the best prices if you dont mind importing from the EU.

    Just bought a 2012 with the bovee adapter. Have not tried it with the 06 yet but I'll check it when ive got both trucks together.
    2006 L322 HSE LUX
    2012 L322 Autobiography

    Newtons 42nd Law. If you run around a tree fast enough, you will inbox yourself.
    Quotes are silly.

  10. #8
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    January 23rd, 2018
    Location
    Maine USA
    Posts
    60

    Re: Finally a way to add an AUX on a 2006

    Thanks. Let me know how the ACM reacts with the bovee. I cant wait to finally find a solution to getting rid of all the cables and having some control without having to do it with the phone while driving.
    Mark
    Last edited by RRToadHall; March 31st, 2019 at 11:51 PM.
    2009 R/R HSE
    2001 R/R HSE
    1971 SER III
    2006 Jaguar Super V8
    1990 R/R Classic (dearly missed)
    1990 Jaguar XJ-40 VDP (RIP)

  11. #9
    FRESHMAN ROVER sowr's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 31st, 2017
    Location
    Big Bear Lake
    Posts
    248

    Re: Finally a way to add an AUX on a 2006

    Range Rover HSE 2010 (5.0L V8 NA) with Factory Roof Rack - Zermatt Silver, Black Interior.

  12. #10
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    May 31st, 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Posts
    28

    Re: Finally a way to add an AUX on a 2006

    Quote Originally Posted by MarkinMaine View Post
    Thanks. Let me know how the ACM reacts with the bovee. I cant wait to finally find a solution to getting rid of all the cables and having some control without having to do it with the phone while driving.
    Mark
    Sorry for not getting back to you sooner on this.

    OK so I swapped the Bovee betwen the 06 with ACM and the 2012 with OEM ACM.

    It did not work with the 06 ACM. It appeared to be constantly reconnecting or rebooting. This could be an ACM firmware issue or a Bovee firmware issue. The ACM is actually a 3rd party unit used in a wide range of vehicles and much like the old Nav units there are firmwares for porsche, saab etc that may be newer and allow it to work. I do not know the process for firmware updates etc, it's been a long time since I looked into all that. I also am unsure but there may also be a different Bovee model for different compatibility. YMMV.
    2006 L322 HSE LUX
    2012 L322 Autobiography

    Newtons 42nd Law. If you run around a tree fast enough, you will inbox yourself.
    Quotes are silly.

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Similar Threads

  1. 2006 HSE | easiest/cheapest way to add aux input (NO
    By adamsrotors in forum Range Rover Mark III / L322
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 3rd, 2015, 06:18 AM
  2. Is there a way to add the remaining 4 cameras to a 2010 RRS?
    By AmableMiguel in forum Range Rover Sport / L320
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 9th, 2011, 08:51 AM
  3. What is the best way to add 12V Power outlets?
    By mdwheal in forum Range Rover Classic
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 14th, 2008, 08:18 AM
  4. Any Way to Upgrade Leather, Add Wood After Market?
    By dsa420 in forum Range Rover Sport / L320
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 27th, 2006, 12:57 AM
  5. EASY WAY TO ADD AN IPOD TO CLARION HEAD UNITS!
    By 2000m5 in forum Range Rover Mark II / P38
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 20th, 2006, 09:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.3.0