How to enter Radio Code
NEWS
 

  1. Welcome to RangeRovers.net – General discussion forum for Range Rovers

    Welcome to RangeRovers.net - a website dedicated to all things Range Rovers.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join RangeRovers.net today!
     
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: How to enter Radio Code

  1. #1
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    December 13th, 2008
    Posts
    18

    How to enter Radio Code

    I have a '97 LRRR 4.0 SE and the radio died. I pulled the radio to check the fuse but all is ok. I got the radio code from a LR dealer. Dealer suggested I disconnect neg. battery terminal for a few minutes, reconnect and enter code. So, I disconnected for 5 minutes and turned on the radio to enter the code but all I have is a lit blank screen. The radio/cd will play for 2-3 minutes when I press the On and BND buttons together but then shuts off leaving a lit blank screen again. When the radio/cd is on there's a beep about every second. With the screen blank there's no indication when to enter the code. I know this sounds confusing but is there anyone who can suggest how to properly reset everything so I can enter the code?

    Thanks in advance for any help.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Range Rovers Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LEGACY VENDOR leftlanetruckin's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 26th, 2007
    Location
    mid missouri, usa via blackpool,lancs...
    Posts
    6,369

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    when i replaced my battery, the radio displayed "code" on the display when turned on.
    if your is playing a cd etc, even for a minute, something else is wrong. mine wouldnt do anything until it got the correct code.
    i fear its not the code that is upsetting the cart here.....

    martin
    '98 P38 HSE, with a 6.0 liter LSx and 4L60E transmission, fully functional EAS, HVAC etc.
    '03 L322 HSE Bone stock, besides XM.
    '98 XJ Locked, geared, plated and on 37's.
    Custom fabrication, engine rebuilds and knowledge that comes from experience and not Google, always available for a reasonable cost.
    Reliable BECM repairs, and EAS Parts....www.becmdoctor.com

  4. #3
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    April 23rd, 2007
    Location
    Royston, Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    108

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Unorthodox I know, but take it out of the car, put it in a SEALABLE bag and bung it in the freezer overnight.

    Take it out of the freezer, leve it in a warm dry place for a few hours then put it back in the car. it should fire up as normal.

    The person who told me this couldn't tell me why but it does 'break'the code'. To be honest, I haven't had to try this with my RR head unit but it worked on an old Alpine I had in the Merc.
    '98 4.6HSE Cosworth
    BiGas sequential LPG & Mark Adams chips
    Love it!

  5. #4
    LEGACY VENDOR leftlanetruckin's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 26th, 2007
    Location
    mid missouri, usa via blackpool,lancs...
    Posts
    6,369

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Quote Originally Posted by Dorian
    Unorthodox I know, but take it out of the car, put it in a SEALABLE bag and bung it in the freezer overnight.

    Take it out of the freezer, leve it in a warm dry place for a few hours then put it back in the car. it should fire up as normal.

    The person who told me this couldn't tell me why but it does 'break'the code'. To be honest, I haven't had to try this with my RR head unit but it worked on an old Alpine I had in the Merc.
    i will be extremely interested in the results of this trick!

    OP, keep us posted!

    martin
    '98 P38 HSE, with a 6.0 liter LSx and 4L60E transmission, fully functional EAS, HVAC etc.
    '03 L322 HSE Bone stock, besides XM.
    '98 XJ Locked, geared, plated and on 37's.
    Custom fabrication, engine rebuilds and knowledge that comes from experience and not Google, always available for a reasonable cost.
    Reliable BECM repairs, and EAS Parts....www.becmdoctor.com

  6. #5
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    December 13th, 2008
    Posts
    18

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Quote Originally Posted by Dorian
    Unorthodox I know, but take it out of the car, put it in a SEALABLE bag and bung it in the freezer overnight.

    Take it out of the freezer, leve it in a warm dry place for a few hours then put it back in the car. it should fire up as normal.

    The person who told me this couldn't tell me why but it does 'break'the code'. To be honest, I haven't had to try this with my RR head unit but it worked on an old Alpine I had in the Merc.
    Ok, I know we are gullible Yanks but this sounds hilarious. None the less, I'll give it a try and let you know if it works.

  7. #6
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    December 13th, 2008
    Posts
    18

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Quote Originally Posted by vjm530
    Quote Originally Posted by Dorian
    Unorthodox I know, but take it out of the car, put it in a SEALABLE bag and bung it in the freezer overnight.

    Take it out of the freezer, leve it in a warm dry place for a few hours then put it back in the car. it should fire up as normal.

    The person who told me this couldn't tell me why but it does 'break'the code'. To be honest, I haven't had to try this with my RR head unit but it worked on an old Alpine I had in the Merc.
    Ok, I know we are gullible Yanks but this sounds hilarious. None the less, I'll give it a try and let you know if it works.
    UPDATE: It's in the freezer as we speak. (I can't believe I'm doing this) Next update in 12-14 hours.

  8. #7
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    December 13th, 2008
    Posts
    18

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Quote Originally Posted by vjm530
    Quote Originally Posted by vjm530
    Quote Originally Posted by Dorian
    Unorthodox I know, but take it out of the car, put it in a SEALABLE bag and bung it in the freezer overnight.

    Take it out of the freezer, leve it in a warm dry place for a few hours then put it back in the car. it should fire up as normal.

    The person who told me this couldn't tell me why but it does 'break'the code'. To be honest, I haven't had to try this with my RR head unit but it worked on an old Alpine I had in the Merc.
    Ok, I know we are gullible Yanks but this sounds hilarious. None the less, I'll give it a try and let you know if it works.
    UPDATE: It's in the freezer as we speak. (I can't believe I'm doing this) Next update in 12-14 hours.
    This strange and unorthodox (tongue in cheek) method did not work for me. Any other suggestions?

  9. #8
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    December 13th, 2008
    Posts
    18

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Any suggestions from anyone on how I can get the 'Code In' screen to materialize? There must some sequence of radio buttons that is preventing access to the screen. After disconnecting the battery and reconnecting, pulling the radio and reconnecting, all I get is a blank lit screen that beeps (for a code) when I press the 'On' and 'BND' buttons at the same time which allows the radio/cd tp play. This lasts for 2 minutes and then shuts off leaving a lit blank screen again. I don't think there's anything wrong with the player. The key is getting the screen to show 'Code In' so I can re-enter the Code for activation before the 2 minutes are up. At least that what it seems after all the options I have tried.

  10. #9
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    April 23rd, 2007
    Location
    Royston, Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    108

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Had my battery out this morning, (long story - another time).

    Reconnected battery and started car. switched on radio normally, not with the BND button down. Got 4 dashes and just tapped in the code and bingo!

    Best of luck
    '98 4.6HSE Cosworth
    BiGas sequential LPG & Mark Adams chips
    Love it!

  11. #10
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    April 26th, 2008
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    7

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Hi,
    have you tried pushing and holding the buttons BND and MAN (the one between the arrows) for about three seconds?
    Regards, Korkut

  12. #11
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    November 28th, 2008
    Posts
    5

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    are u even sure that the LCD even works? could be only the light is working

  13. #12
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    December 13th, 2008
    Posts
    18

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Quote Originally Posted by monase
    are u even sure that the LCD even works? could be only the light is working
    No, I don't know but shouldn't I be able to punch in the Code since that is the default position when you turn on the radio? I thought the LCD is just for 'indication' of what is being read at the moment . . . or?

    Thanks for your help.

  14. #13
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    December 13th, 2008
    Posts
    18

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Quote Originally Posted by kork
    Hi,
    have you tried pushing and holding the buttons BND and MAN (the one between the arrows) for about three seconds?
    Regards, Korkut
    Thanks Kork. It worked. The LCD does not show (must be burned out) but I pressed both that you mentioned, punched in the Code and it plays. The LCD doesn't show anything but at least the radio/cd plays which is all I need at the moment until I can find a reasonably price replacement unit. Thanks again from across the globe.

  15. #14
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    December 13th, 2008
    Posts
    18

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Quote Originally Posted by monase
    are u even sure that the LCD even works? could be only the light is working
    Everything is working great now but looks like the LCD is out like you suggested. Do you know if this is replaceable and how to fix it w/o sending it out for $200?

  16. #15
    NEWBIE
    Join Date
    January 24th, 2009
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to enter Radio Code

    Quote Originally Posted by vjm530
    I have a '97 LRRR 4.0 SE and the radio died. I pulled the radio to check the fuse but all is ok. I got the radio code from a LR dealer. Dealer suggested I disconnect neg. battery terminal for a few minutes, reconnect and enter code. So, I disconnected for 5 minutes and turned on the radio to enter the code but all I have is a lit blank screen. The radio/cd will play for 2-3 minutes when I press the On and BND buttons together but then shuts off leaving a lit blank screen again. When the radio/cd is on there's a beep about every second. With the screen blank there's no indication when to enter the code. I know this sounds confusing but is there anyone who can suggest how to properly reset everything so I can enter the code?

    Thanks in advance for any help.
    save youre self the worries! get an after market radio!! i did for my 1998 range rover and been happier then a pig eatin bacon!!

Similar Threads

  1. Radio Won't Let Me Enter Code - How to Reset It???
    By E36 Phantom in forum Range Rover Mark II / P38
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 28th, 2014, 02:37 PM
  2. radio code
    By vande_v in forum Range Rover Mark II / P38
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 12th, 2008, 08:43 AM
  3. how to enter the code into the Clarion Head Unit?
    By LIRA in forum Range Rover Mark II / P38
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: August 21st, 2007, 02:52 PM
  4. Figured out radio code Need help w/radio functions
    By pog in forum Range Rover Classic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 27th, 2006, 12:40 PM
  5. Is there a radio code
    By HSE in forum Range Rover Mark II / P38
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 7th, 2005, 11:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.2