Which Fuse for a Dash cam ?
NEWS
 

  1. Welcome to RangeRovers.net – General discussion forum for Range Rovers

    Welcome to RangeRovers.net - a website dedicated to all things Range Rovers.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join RangeRovers.net today!
     
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Which Fuse for a Dash cam ?

  1. #1
    NEWBIE
    Join Date
    August 25th, 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2

    Which Fuse for a Dash cam ?

    Fitting a dash cam tomorrow - want permanent 12v feed so it monitors when parked, and I'm taking the cable to the passenger fusebox, behind the glovebox.

    Anyone know which is the best fuse in that box to pick up a permanent 12v feed please?

    Thanks

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Range Rovers Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    August 27th, 2014
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    214

    Re: Which Fuse for a Dash cam ?

    I don't know which fuse we tapped but make sure you use something like a power magic pro unless this is your daily driver

  4. #3
    SITE ADMINISTRATOR RRToadHall's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 12th, 2006
    Location
    Kloshe Cottage, WA
    Posts
    23,131

    Re: Which Fuse for a Dash cam ?

    even if it is a daily driver you are asking for trouble having a drain 24 hours a day.You will have not only the drain from the camera system but the main systems in the car will most likely not be able to "go to sleep" which will add to the power draw.
    Have you ever listened to someone for awhile
    and wondered who ties their shoelaces for them?

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Range Rovers Forum
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    December 29th, 2013
    Location
    Windham, New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,024

    Re: Which Fuse for a Dash cam ?

    Not sure if your kit requires the same method but someone just did something similar in a Sport. Might be worth reading/getting in touch: Radar Detector Install on Rear View Mirror+Power

    nevermind, I now realize you want the power to be permanent (probably not a great thing for the car), but I leave this here for future searches.

  7. #5
    NEWBIE
    Join Date
    August 25th, 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2

    Re: Which Fuse for a Dash cam ?

    Going to use a smart power adaptor, which shuts down if battery voltage drops to a threshold level.
    so should be Ok.

    But which fuse position ?

  8. #6
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    August 2nd, 2016
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    11

    Re: Which Fuse for a Dash cam ?

    Anyone ever figure this out?


    The hardwire kits/power magic pro's these days manage power in a way that as richmond hall stated, shuts the camera off if the battery voltgage drops below a certain threshold. This threshold is something you can customize.


    I'm also looking to see if anyone can share which fuses they tapped.


    I've installed dashcams with the power management units in a few BMWs so I know which fuses to use based on the icon on the fuse map. I wonder if I can just pick the same icons on the RR Sport fuse map and go with that....hmmm...

  9. #7
    FRESHMAN ROVER
    Join Date
    June 13th, 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    19

    Re: Which Fuse for a Dash cam ?

    Yes, fuse box behind glove box. Believe it was 52. Should be a yellow 20amp. Check fuse list in your manual. This one should be for accessory power socket in cubby box. That is where my dashcam is on. That one powers when you open door, ignition on, when you leave car with small delay which is perfect for dash cam. Also you can use fuse 60 which is purely ignition on off.

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Similar Threads

  1. Dash Cam Installation(hardwiring)
    By FrankXu in forum Range Rover Sport II / L494
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: March 30th, 2017, 11:07 PM
  2. Dash CAM and TPMS Interference - where to mount?
    By rangerover08 in forum Range Rover Mark III / L322
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: September 10th, 2015, 11:11 AM
  3. Dash Cam
    By NYCRSS in forum Range Rover Sport II / L494
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2015, 11:43 AM
  4. Installing dash cam
    By Jarvis in forum Range Rover Sport / L320
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: April 21st, 2014, 08:53 AM
  5. Wiring up a dash cam
    By DaveCap in forum Range Rover Mark III / L322
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 3rd, 2013, 02:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.2